A few thoughts on sports “rules”:
The Miami Heat won their playoff game last night largely due to a rule that I have never understood. I say “largely” because the Pacers’ continued bad plays also made a big difference in the outcome. The rule I am questioning is why does a team get to take the ball out at halfcourt after calling time out when their opponent scores, instead of having to take the ball out from under their basket as is the case every other time the opponent scores? Since there were 2.2 seconds left when Indiana took the lead, the odds of Miami winning if they had to inbound the ball from under their basket would have been very low. In football, should a team be able to call time out after their opponent scores and then get the ball at their opponent’s 45-yardline? This rule provides a big advantage for the team that was just scored upon, and I do not see any reason to give that advantage.
Is it a rule that after an NHL goalie gives up a goal, he has to take a drink from the water bottle on top of the net?
Is it a rule that after an MLB batter strikes out, he has to look back at the pitcher halfway back to the dugout?